Deception (Masters of Valor Book 2)

When I found the sword it came alive in my hands. It has been quiet since then … until the dragons arrived.

I wanted Paige from the first time I met her. When lunch ended in her arrest I knew had to protect her. She was arrested for embezzlement but there is more going on here. I always believed follow the money and find the culprit. But when her father gets involved and the dragons show up, it appears there is more than money involved.

I left my family and the cult they led years before. Hiding in plain view at the bank. Keeping my head down and remaining in the background, until I was arrested. My father has promised me to one of his partners and he means to force me into marriage with a man I don’t know or want.

Evil thinks it will win but it doesn’t know about the sword. Can the sword and I protect Paige from the cult that thinks it owns her?

The Reviews!

Rhonda Hicks
5.0 out of 5 stars enthralling
Reviewed in the United States on May 10, 2022
Verified Purchase
"Once known as the Knights of the Round Table, fate had forced their hand and they’d watched their chance to be the defenders of the Light slip away. Thirteen original swords had been forged for those who sat at King Arthur’s table. Now, only four remain; four new heroes would rise to find and wield them in the cause of the Light."
James, Delta. Illusion: A Supernatural Fantasy Romance (Masters of Valor Book 1) (p. 5). Kindle Edition.

'Deception' is the second book in Delta James' "Masters of Valor" series. This storyline is so enthralling it pulled me in immediately and moves so fast that I finished before I was ready. If you've been waiting for the story about Bennet Greyson, aka Ben, and the Arondight Sword, the unfading light of the lake, had once been wielded by Lancelot—yeah, the guy that cheated on his best friend with his best friend’s wife, then you're in for a real treat. He's one of the Marine Raiders who would make the pack while in the Middle East. All the swords have been found. Their team has been assembled and they've relocated to Rackham’s Roost, North Carolina to establish their businesses and keep their vow to protect the innocent. We've known that Ben has an inordinate amount of knowledge when it comes to antiques but now we find out he also has a law degree and is licensed to practice all along the Eastern Border. That comes in handy, trust me. Another fair newcomer to the area is Paige Davenport. She's the assistant manager of the local bank. Ben noticed her right off and even though her attire is rather dowdy and plain the fact that she wears open-toed stilettos peaks his imagination! Unfortunately, Paige is keeping secrets of her own from everyone in the town. At least she did until she was arrested for embezzlement of bank funds. The twists and turns in this storyline are amazing! And if you thought we were finished with Wyvern, you'd be wrong. We now have more than one dragon to contend with and a parent who is as evil as Snidely Whiplash (ok, my age is showing). It’s a remarkable storyline and I can't wait for the next one.
5.0 out of 5 stars ‘ODD’ WAS THE ORDER OF THE DAY
Reviewed in the United States on May 6, 2022
I would strongly encourage anyone reading the Masters of Valor series to read the Prophecy prequel, which sets up this series. It will help the reader understand the four main male characters, Gabriel Watson, Tristan Crawford, Bennet Greyson, Ford Montgomery, and the magical swords, Courechouse, Clarent, Arondight, and Caliburn. I would also say that because these books are told in chronological order, you should read them as such.

The second book will focus on two main characters, Bennett ‘Ben’ Greyson and Paige Davenport. Ben is one of the newcomers to the area, four former Marine Raider, like Gabe, Triston, and Ford. The four men have plans to work together, opening several businesses, including Refuge, a lifestyle club, and Steel Knights Investigations. Ben also is into antiques and comes from a prestigious family. Paige is the assistant manager of the local bank, but she is the daughter of a powerful man. Her life will be turned upside down when she is accused of embezzlement and arrested.
Sara B.
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Fantastic Book in the Series
Reviewed in the United States on May 7, 2022
Another fantastic read in this spin-off series. The storyline focuses on Ben and Paige - their journey to becoming a couple and the fake embezzlement charges she faces.

This is a fast-paced and quick read. Favorite couples Gabe & Anne, and Tristan & Goody are heavily involved in the storyline as is potential couple Ford & Gillian. It is fun to watch Anne bonding and forming a strong friendship with Goody, Paige and Gillian. These ladies are happily in love with their men and willing to be a bit naughty together sparking their Doms’ to provide some punishment.

This book picked up where the prior book left off and ends with the overall story and mystery left unsolved. The storyline will pick up in the next book focusing on Ford & Gillian.

I definitely recommend this series, but definitely start with the first book - preferably start with Masters of the Savoy. The Savoy series starts with Sage Matthew’s relation with Roark and it’s her home Anne & Gabe have purchased, and her erotic books are frequently mentioned by characters in this series.

I’m excited for the next book in this series now that we’ve had a hint at what Gillian has been keeping secret.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

Author: Reluctant Retiree

Living in FL and enjoying life.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: